Stephen O'Keefe

Stephen O’Keefe


View Stephen O'Keefe on LinkedIn

Western Australia
TEC Chair: Key Executive Program

No institution can possibly survive if it needs geniuses or supermen to manage it. It must be organised in such a way as to be able to get along under a leadership composed of average human beings – Peter Drucker.’

I’m a commerce graduate who has significantly grown businesses in a career which has spanned a wide range of industries. I now consults to a range of business on marketing and distribution development.

My career commenced in public accounting with Pricewaterhouse Coopers followed by 10 years with The Shell Company of Australia Ltd. One of my major roles at Shell was the CEO of a national fuel distribution operation with remote distribution points delivering over 50 million litres pa to customers throughout Australia.

At Wesfarmers Ltd, I held the position of Sales & Marketing Manager in the Rural Division. The business was expanded to the east coast and this development became the basis for the growth of Wesfarmers Rural outside of its WA base.

During my 10 years at the privately owned Peters and Brownes Group I lead the development of the group from a WA only business to a national business with a range of ice cream and dairy products. My team managed and developed the Cadbury Ice Cream range of novelty and take home ice cream products for all major distribution channels to a business of $100 million retail sales in 8 years.

As CEO for Kailis Pearling – the 2nd largest pearl producer and marketer in Australia, I lead the development in licensed branded pearl sales nationally and internationally and the expansion of the pearling farming operations. As an integrated business from hatchery to farming/seeding/ grading/wholesale and retail sales this $30 million business competed successfully across international market.

Professional memberships / Board positions:

Current: AICD, AIM, board member Southseas Abalone Ltd
Former Chairman Water Polo WA – 2011 – 2014, former board member Cottesloe Golf Club – 2012 – 2014